Room 18 @ Midvalley Megamall

room 18

 

Room 18 is another Chinese restaurant accustomed to the busier society and the younger generation. Traditional Chinese meals normally serve rice and dishes. But what happens when you are eating alone. You can’t be ordering all the dishes for just one person. So Tai Thong group came up with yet another brilliant dining concept. There are soups in individual bowls, and I picked the watercress soup and it was delicious. But honestly, why does restaurant serve soups already salted? Is it not better to serve unsalted soup and let the consumer add salt accordingly to their taste bud? Not that the soup here was briny, but I like it less salty.

 

1.@room eighteen (11)

 

Moving to the main courses, I tried two of their recommended rice served in stone pot. The Mabo tafu rice, and the Seafood Egg rice. Both being a disappointment and really bland. To make things worse, the rice were undercooked. Both dishes kind of just have this tasteless mushy texture on the top.

 

2.mabo tofu @ room 18
3.DSC03404

 

I thought rice plate might be better, so I ordered the Twin Combination rice which was palatable only because I didn’t like the texture of the rice served. Apparently their rice is really hard and dry. Took me twice the time to chew my rice, but the roasted pork was delicious. Crispy skin and succulent meat was a great combination for the roasted pork. The barbecued pork slices were also amazing. But I do hope that they’ll be more generous with the meat and the gravy.

 

4.twin combination rice @room eighteen (2)

 

So all the rice was hard and dry, good thing the porridge was soft or there will be nothing left in this place. I tried their Signature porridge and I tell myself, I will only order their porridge from now on the next time I return to the place. This porridge was great for there are so many ingredients in the porridge. Century egg, pork meatball, shredded chicken, pork liver, and minced meat with you tiao pieces and spring onion sprinkled on top.

 

5.signature congee (1)

 

Apart from rice and congee, there is simple light snacks and dim sum. I tried the Siew Mai and it was one hell of a siew mai. It is made from minced pork, shitake mushrooms and prawns. The prawns were so generously added in it, you can see chunks of prawns inside the minced pork.

 

6.siew mai rm 8.80 @room eighteen (8)

 

Another interesting snack here is the Bah Kut Teh bun. It looked a lot like the siew pau but it has great fragrant of the bah kut the. The bun tasted softer than that of the siew pau.

 

7.bahkut teh bun  @ room 18
7.DSC03410

 

Lastly if you order the set meals, they sort of throw in some dessert of the day and I happened to land myself with the coffee pudding. I love the texture but hated the coffee flavor. Like I’ve always said, coffee taste good only as coffee itself, not when it’s a flavor to anything. I really don’t find this intriguing at any bit.

 

@room eighteen (10)

 

The beverages here has combination of traditional drinks, and some creative ones. I picked the hot Lemon tea with aloe vera, and the Iced orange tea. Nothing to look forward to if you were to order the same, because it was ordinarily bland. The later didn’t have any taste of tea. It was as good as orange juice.

 

8.9.lemon tea and orange

 

Please take note that the plain water here cost Rm 2, so you might want to order your drinks cleverly.

 

Check out more photos and updates in Foodeverywhere’s Facebook page

 

 

Restaurant Room 18 is located at :
Mid Valley Megamall
Lot GE-009, GF MV Megamall,
Lingkaran Syed Putra,
98200 Kuala Lumpur
Tel:03 -29383311

 

Cost of the meal comes up to about 104.80 including tax and service charge. And even so, bear in mind that the service sucked. It took me more than 5 minute, with my hand raised all the time just to get someone to take my order.

 

Love, sycookies

 

 

Comments
2 Responses to “Room 18 @ Midvalley Megamall”
  1. Hello, i think that i saw you visited my website so i came
    to go back the favor?.I’m trying to find issues to enhance my website!I assume its adequate to make use of a few of your concepts!!

    Like

  2. Anonymous says:

    tried today..poor service, food average

    Like

Leave a Reply

